About me

The Impact Bag Blog is written by Michael Parry qualified PGA Trainee Assistant at the PGA of Sweden. Growing up I played golf on the Welsh Amatur Circuit. From there I played for Coastal Carolina University Men’s Golf Team in the NCAA Division 1. 

I hold a BSc in Physical Education from Coastal Carolina University, Myrtle Beach South Carolina and a Masters degree in Education from Stockholm University. 

I have a varied background in sport, beginning playing soccer for Cardiff City and rugby for Cwmbran Schools before trying my hand at golf. I was once told, “Jack of all trades master of none” so I decided to play golf only to find it’s a sport that can’t be mastered.

My first time on a plane was in 1994 age 18 to fly to Myrtle Beach to play at Coastal Carolina University in which I completed 2 years playing in the NCAA Division 1 for the men’s golf team. I didn’t get much success there and eventually switched my hand to play for the men’s soccer team, making me one of the few dual-sport athletes at CCU. After captaining the soccer side for a few seasons I played a year’s professional soccer for the Myrtle Beach Sea Dawgs in the USISL before moving home.  

I have been working as a teacher of Social Science and in Special Education for the past 16 years, where I have had an interest in the learning process. At the age of 40, I stopped playing football and decided to get my golf clubs back out. 

Starting at a ropey 5 handicap I finally worked my way back down to scratch in the course of 4 years. It was a learning process that I immersed myself in mentally and physically.

In 2021 I took my PGA Trainee exams with the PGA of Sweden and am now qualified to coach golf. I plan to use my knowledge about how people learn. Mixing my golf knowledge with my Master’s Degree in education to hopefully help golfers achieve their potential.

I decided to start the Best Ball Blog as a way of sharing some of the many books and information I’ve used to help me get from 5 to scratch in 4 years. 

I am also available for face to face lessons in Stockholm or sometimes in Wales. I am available for online lessons throughout the year.